Chocolate Syrup

12 Jul

Ah, chocolate. A food group to most women. I am no exception. My friend Chas changed my life with a post about homemade chocolate syrup. Frankly, I could eat it by the spoonful. It is fabulous over ice cream. My absolute favorite way to use it, however, is in coffee. Hot or iced with a little half and half, you could fool even those who have their daily Starbucks. It’s that good.

This is what I used for my base:

Although THIS would make me truly weak in the knees. Askinosie is not only an awesome company, but they make chocolate too. 🙂

Back to the syrup:
Mix 1/2 cup cocoa and 1 cup water in a sauce pot. Do me a favor and make sure it’s nice and deep. If it is not, this will boil over. If you do not heed my warning and it does boil over, it is not too terribly difficult to clean up. Not that it ever happened to me or anything.

After the cocoa and water are incorporated add 2 cups of sugar. Bring this to a rolling boil and keep boiling for 3 minutes. I like to keep whisking it while it boils to further prevent boil over. Not that I know anything about that. It looks like this:

Take off the heat and add 1/8 teaspoon of salt and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla (I personally prefer it without the vanilla). Do not start eating it with a spoon. You will burn your tongue. Do let it cool before pouring it into a pint jar and sticking it in the fridge. It thickens a bit in the fridge, so don’t be alarmed if you think it is too runny at first. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

