Tex Mex Chicken and Rice Bake

13 Jul

This is what we had last night. I served it with a salad and cornbread. You know you have over cooked your cornbread when your husband sees you cutting it and said “Oh, that’s cornbread? I thought it was brownies”. πŸ™‚ It was still a good meal and filled our bellies. My youngest two children just picked out the chicken and ate it. I found this recipe on Cindy’s blog and adapted it to what I had on hand. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 can cream of chicken soup
1 cup salsa
1/2 cup water
1 cup whole kernel corn (I used frozen)
3/4 cup instant rice
1 lb frozen, fully cooked chicken breast strips
3 oz cheddar cheese, shredded

Stir the soup, salsa, water, corn and rice together in a large bowl. Stir in the chicken. Put in a 2qt shallow baking pan. Bake, uncovered at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. Sprinkle with cheese. Let stand until cheese is melted.

5 Responses to “Tex Mex Chicken and Rice Bake”

  1. Cathy Buckman July 13, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    yum what a great idea to blog πŸ™‚

    • debhmom3 July 13, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

      Thanks Cathy! Maybe you can triple all my recipes to feel your crew! πŸ™‚

      • Cathy Buckman July 17, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

        yep that is what Id do πŸ™‚

  2. Theresa July 13, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    Looks great Debbie! Like I said before, I have two young men who EAT a lot and I am not sure I could go a whole month without shopping. However I HAVE been trying to use up what I have and not run to the store.
    Two nights ago, I found a frozen chunk of roast beef ( from a large deli piece I bought) and I threw it in a pot with some home made gravy. Later I put in lleftover potatoes, a can of green beans and mushrooms.
    Yesterday I put chicken in a crock pot with a bottle of bbq sauce…to make shredded chicken bbq sandwiches.
    the other day I stretched ‘burgers’ and emptied some jalepenos, some jalepeno dip no one was eating, some cheese no one was eating, some oatmeal and an egg….and BINGO! everyone loved them! πŸ™‚
    Thanks for the inspiration! May the Lord stretch your food like oil in jars! πŸ™‚

    • debhmom3 July 13, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

      Thanks Theresa! We do have a food bank we get to shop at twice a month for free here at the Seminary and Panera donates bread twice a week. On Saturday mornings there is produce (near the end of life) and packaged breads. So, it’s not like I’m getting NO food, I’m just not spending any money on it. However, my freezers are full of meat as well. Mostly chicken because we get chicken and ham for free on a regular basis here. My hope for the blog is that students here would realize that they need to be using these resources available to us and no one should be going hungry!

      Great job on using what you had! Glad I could inspire you. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

