Creamy Pasta and Chicken

14 Jul

We get breaded chicken donated by Brakebush chicken on a regular basis.  Sometimes we get tired of eating it, or just want to do something different with it.  This is how I was feeling today, so I made up a recipe to use up some of the chicken and to finish up my carton of half and half.   It was tasty and filled our bellies.

Ingridents:

approx. 1-1.5 pounds of breaded chicken tenders (or chunks, whatever you have as you will chop them up anyway)

2 cups half and half (I’d imagine milk would work too)

1 packet vegetable soup mix

2 cups shredded cheese (any kind you prefer, I used colby)

1 pound pasta, cooked and drained (I used multi color bow tie)

First, toss your breaded chicken tenders in the oven to cook.  I used approximately 12 tenders and cooked them at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

As your pasta is cooking, whisk together your half and half and your soup mix.  Let that cook on medium until the vegetables are tender, whisking frequently.  When the vegetables are tender, add in the cheese and whisk until smooth.

Meanwhile, chop up your cooked chicken into bite size pieces.  Drain your pasta.  Place pasta and chicken  in a large bowl.  Pour in your sauce and mix well, till all is coated.  Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Creamy Pasta and Chicken”

  1. Danavee July 14, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Has that “my fridge food” site helped???

    • debhmom3 July 14, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

      I haven’t made anything from it yet, but have certainly gotten good ideas from it to try in the future. This whole pantry/no spend challenge thing has me thinking about food 24/7. LOL I may just end up seeing how little we can spend until the end of the year because I have so many things I want to try now based on what I have already and what I can get free from the Seminary. I really thought we’d gain a bunch of weight eating like this, but I’ve actually lost weight. Makes me think we ate out too much. Apparently eating some processed or packaged foods is still better for you than eating out!

      Thanks for reminding me about the site, though, I need to make a post about it because I know it would be helpful to people.

  2. Danavee July 14, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    I can’t wait to read that one! I know we eat out way too much. This is really motivating me to try to use what I have at home!

Leave a Reply

