Coconut Macaroons

15 Jul

I love my fellow Sem wife and friend Jennifer.  She is funny, easy to talk to and we have lots of similar interests.  I love her the most, though, because she likes to show up on my doorstep with these:

Coconut macaroons.  Be still my heart.  Gooey, coconutty, chewy, yummy goodness.  Since my dinner last night was your basic meat on the grill and veggies, I thought I’d share the perfect “get your ingredients at the food bank” recipe that was our dessert, compliments of Jen.  Be sure to check out Jen’s blog for this recipe and more!

Coconut Macaroons

Ingridents:

4 cups coconut
1 can sweetened condensed milk (not evaporated)
1/3 cup flour
1 tsp Almond extract (or vanilla but almond is much tastier)

1/2 cup chocolate chips (optional)
Parchment paper or waxed paper if available

  • Preheat oven to 325F.
  • Combine milk and almond extract.
  • Add flour and mix to combine.
  • Fold in coconut.
  • Drop by rounded teaspoonful (I use a small cookie dough scooper) onto baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
  • Bake 10-15mins until edges and top are lightly brown.
  • If desired turn on broiler to toast the tops. If you use the broiler do not take your eyes off the cookies. I stood with the oven cracked and watched them brown.
  • Remove from oven.
  • Melt chocolate chips and drizzle over macaroons. Use a zip lock with the corner cut to make this easier. I was out of bags and impatient so I just put a little circle of chocolate on top of each cookie.
Leave a Reply

