Pantry Chicken Pasta

3 Aug

Even though I am back to grocery shopping this month, I am still on a quest to see what needs to be used up so that our pantry stock stays rotated and fresh.  There were a couple of boxes of partially used pasta and some chopped cooked chicken that needed to be used.  There was also this can of tomatoes I had been wanting to try in some kind of dish:

I cannot begin to express to you my love for Red Gold tomatoes.  Not all canned tomatoes are created equal, my friends.  I am not a tomato lover, and Red Gold tomatoes make my mouth sing!  I do use other brands when I have to (after all, I get them free!), however, when I want something to taste amazing I go to a can of Red Gold.  I absolutely love petite diced tomatoes over regular diced.  Regular diced are way too chunky for my liking.  This can was flavored with garlic and olive oil and they were amazing.  If you have regular diced tomatoes, be sure to add a couple cloves of garlic and a splash of olive oil.

Pantry Chicken Pasta

1 lb. pasta, any shape

1 can cream of chicken soup

8 oz. processed cheese spread (just use a couple of cups of shredded cheddar if the thought of processed cheese makes your stomach do flip flops)

1 15 oz can diced tomatoes, undrained (be sure to add the garlic and olive oil if your tomatoes are unflavored, it adds so much!)

1/2 cup milk

2 cups diced chicken

Cooked your pasta al dente and drain.  Throw it back in the pot and add the rest of the ingredients and stir until all is heated through and cheese is melted.

Leave a Reply

